FARMHOUSE SMILING GECKO

SMILING-GECKO-STARTBILD

In order to accommodate visitors, guests and students involved in the project, a guest house with a kitchen was built on the project site. It opened its doors in November 2015.

The head chef of the guesthouse is a Cambodian woman who trained at the Swiss Hotel Management School Lucerne (SHL) both in Switzerland and in Cambodia. Thanks to the long-term partnership with SHL, we will be able to train and employ more and more local people in various catering jobs.

Our partner SHL has developed special training and lesson plans for our project. Through interim and final exams, SHL makes sure that all candidates meet the certified qualification level.

Thanks to our cooperation with the airline catering business Gate Gourmet, it is envisaged that all our trainees will find employment at the company’s kitchen at Phnom Penh Airport.

As part of the two-day tour, visitors have the opportunity to gain an in-depth insight into the structures and the work of our innovative holistic social project. You will have the opportunity to speak with the farmers‘ families and to look at the Smiling Gecko Farm. You visit the local school, renovated by Smiling Gecko, and you gain an impression of the progress of the long-term Village School Project. From the Guesthouse, visitors can hike up the hill to the local monastery and see the Buddhist monks at their morning prayer.

Attractive leisure facilities, e.g. the new swimming pool, the yoga shala, the massage center or a ride with the Bamboo Train also allow a longer, individually tailored stay an interesting and relaxing experience.

With their stay at the „Farmhouse Smiling Gecko“, all visitors support the sustainable Smiling Gecko cluster project and contribute to the success of our holistic approach.


More information and booking inquiry

Guest House
IMG_8598
Smiling-Gecko-Room
Smiling-Gecko-Bath
IMG_8737

“What happens if you combine Swiss way of cooking and gastronomy with Asian cuisine? An explosion of the senses! It was indeed a plunge into a new world of the senses. The native cook, who was trained at the Hotel Management School Lucerne, prepared magic and innovative dishes, which redefine the Southeast Asian cuisine.

It was a wonderful experience, which not only captivated by the choice of the menu, but also by the presentation, served by a charming crew – polished by a trainer from Lucerne – and all this in an incredible setting. The food created by the team of Smiling Gecko was an inspiration, I am already looking forward to my next visit and I am sure that the inclusion in the Gault Millau can not be an ‚if’ but a ‚when’. ”

Thomas R. Meier

Smiling-Gecko-Pool
IMG_8322

“The two days at Smiling Gecko were incredible. We got deep impressions, which shaped our understanding of the previously so enigmatic Cambodia.

In addition to the exciting and informative tours to the nearby school, to the fish market and to the land of Smiling Gecko itself, we enjoyed a wonderful service. The staff was friendly and attentive and spoiled us with wonderful and delicious dishes.

We spent the night in beautiful, authentic farm bungalows, which are in the middle of the area of the burgeoning project. We can only recommend the stay at Smiling Gecko and we ourselves are going to return soon, to see how the project has evolved.”

Silja and Kay from Merey

IMG_8583
IMG_8730
Farmhouse
Smiling-Gecko-Terrasse

“The impressions have been amazing and exciting. We also have had moments of deep concern about the way people live in Cambodia and also an understanding of why it is as it is.

In addition to the exciting and remarkable tours we could enjoy the excellent service. The staff was warm, attentive and enchanted us with their wonderful and delicious cuisine. Thank you…!

We slept in charming and authentic bungalows, you can say in the middle of the farm. We can highly recommend the stay at the Smiling Gecko Farm. It is a journey of a different kind, which probably can be experienced only once.”

Aida, Laura & André Reichmuth

Smiling-Gecko-Massage
A88I5858
Yoga IMG_4662
IMG_0619

In cooperation with

hotelfachschule

OTHER PROJECTS

VILLAGE SCHOOL PROJECT

AGRICULTURE FAMILY PROJECT

SMILING GECKO
CARPENTRY

SUSTAINABLE GARMENT PRODUCTION

INDUSTRIAL EDUCATION & TRAINING CAMPUS

BAMBOO PROJECT

TUK TUK PROJECT

DIRECT AID

SUPPORT OF OTHER NGOS

FARMHOUSE SMILING GECKO

SMILING-GECKO-STARTBILD

Um Besucher, Gäste und Studententeams unterbringen und bewirten zu können, hat im November 2015 auf dem Farmgelände ein Guesthouse mit angeschlossener Restauration seinen Betrieb aufgenommen.

Die Chefköchin des Farmhouse ist eine Kambodschanerin, die durch die Hotelfachschule Luzern (SHL) in Luzern und vor Ort ausgebildet wurde. Dank der langfristigen Partnerschaft mit der SHL werden dort regelmässig auch weitere Einheimische im Gastgewerbe und als Koch ausgebildet und beschäftigt.

Die SHL erstellt spezifische Lehrpläne für die Ausbildungen und gewährleistet das zertifizierte Ausbildungsniveau über Zwischen- und Abschlussprüfungen.

Im Rahmen einer Kooperation mit Gate Gourmet ist geplant, dass alle Absolventen der Ausbildung zukünftig am Flughafen Phnom Penh beschäftigt werden können.

Im Rahmen eines 2-Tagesausfluges haben Besucher die Möglichkeit einen vertieften Einblick in die Strukturen und die Arbeit unseres innovativen, ganzheitlichen Sozialprojektes zu gewinnen. Sie erhalten die Gelegenheit mit den Bauernfamilien zu sprechen und sich auf der Smiling Gecko Farm umzusehen. Sie besuchen die, von Smiling Gecko renovierte, lokale Schule und gewinnen einen Eindruck von den Fortschritten des langfristigen Village School Project. Vom Guesthouse aus können Besucher Wanderungen auf den Hügel zum lokalen Kloster unternehmen und den buddhistischen Mönchen beim Morgengebet zuschauen.

Attraktive Freizeitmöglichkeiten wie z.B. der neue Swimmingpool, die Yoga-Shala, das Massagecenter oder auch eine Fahrt mit dem Bamboo Train machen auch einen individuell geplanten längeren Besuch zu einem interessanten und erholsamen Erlebnis.

Mit Ihrem Aufenthalt im «Farmhouse Smiling Gecko» unterstützen alle Besucher das nachhaltige Clusterprojekt Smiling Gecko und tragen zum Erfolg dieses ganzheitlichen Ansatzes bei.

 


Weitere Informationen und Offertanfrage

Guest House
IMG_8598
Smiling-Gecko-Room
Smiling-Gecko-Bath
IMG_8737

„Was passiert wenn man Schweizer Kochkunst und Gastronomie mit Asiatischer Küche verbindet? Eine Explosion der Sinne! Es war in der Tat ein Eintauchen in eine neue Sinneswelt. Mit Phantasie wurde von der einheimischen und an der Hotelfachschule Luzern geschulten Köchin ein innovatives Gericht auf den Teller gezaubert, welches die südostasiatische Küche neu definiert.

Es war ein wunderbares Erlebnis, welches nicht nur von der Wahl des Menu bestach, sondern auch von der Präsentation, bedient von einer charmanten Crew – geschliffen durch eine Stagiaire aus Luzern – und dies alles in einem unglaublichen Setting. Was die Crew von Smiling Gecko kreierte war eine Inspiration, ich freue mich bereits jetzt auf meinen nächsten Besuch und ich bin mir sicher, dass die Aufnahme in den Gault Millau nicht ein if sondern nur ein when sein kann.“

Thomas R. Meier

Smiling-Gecko-Pool
IMG_8322

„Die zwei Tage bei Smiling Gecko waren unglaublich. Viele tiefe Eindrücke bot uns der Aufenhalt und prägte unser Verständnis für das zuvor so rätselhafte Land Kambodscha.

Neben spannenden und lehrreichen Führungen durch die naheliegende Schule, den Fischmarkt und das Grundstück von Smiling Gecko selbst, genossen wir einen herrlichen Service. Das Personal war herzlich und aufmerksam und verwöhnte uns mit ihrer wunderbaren und deliziösen Küche.

Übernachtet wurde in den wunderschönen, authentischen farm bungalows, die sich in Mitten des Geschehens, des aufblühenden Projektes, befinden.
Wir können einen Aufenthalt bei Smiling Gecko nur weiterempfehlen und wollen selber bereits bald zurückkehren, um zu sehen, wie sich das Projekt weiterentwickelt hat.“

Silja und Kay von Merey

IMG_8583
IMG_8730
Farmhouse
Smiling-Gecko-Terrasse

„Die Eindrücke waren unglaublich und spannend zugleich. Es gab aber auch Momente von tiefer Betroffenheit über die Lebensweise der Menschen in Kambodscha und zugleich ein Verständnis dafür, weshalb das so ist.

Nebst den spannenden und bemerkenswerten Führungen durften wir bei allen Mahlzeiten einen ausgezeichneten Service geniessen. Das Personal war herzlich, sehr aufmerksam und verzauberte uns mit ihrer wunderbaren und köstlichen Küche. Danke…!

Übernachtet haben wir in den charmanten und authentischen Bungalows, die sich sozusagen in Mitten der Farm befinden.
 Wir können einen Aufenthalt auf der Smiling Gecko Farm bestens weiterempfehlen. Es ist eine Entdeckungsreise einer anderen Art, wie man sie wahrscheinlich nur einmal erleben darf.

Aida, Laura & André Reichmuth

Smiling-Gecko-Massage
A88I5858
Yoga IMG_4662
IMG_0619

In Kooperation mit

hotelfachschule

WEITERE PROJEKTE

DORFSCHULPROJEKT

LANDWIRTSCHAFTS-
FAMILIENPROJEKT

SMILING GECKO CARPENTRY

NACHHALTIGE TEXTILFABRIKATION

INDUSTRIAL EDUCATION & TRAINING CAMPUS

BAMBUS PROJEKT

TUK TUK PROJEKT

DIREKTHILFE

UNTERSTÜTZUNG ANDERER NGO´S