INDUSTRIAL EDUCATION & TRAINING CAMPUS

To place our operations on a wider footing going forward, Smiling Gecko is forging partnerships with well-known national and international companies to establish even more commercial operations in the cluster area.

INDUSTRIAL EDUCATION & TRAINING CAMPUS

Teaming up with new partners, Smiling Gecko is currently hard at work to establish additional commercial operations in the cluster area in an effort to create an INDUSTRIAL EDUCATION & TRAINING CAMPUS and, ultimately, secure even more jobs and apprenticeship positions. Smiling Gecko is planning on providing their cooperation partners with an appropriate infrastructure (including comfortable housing with common and recreational rooms for the workforce) which can be used both by the commercial and handicraft enterprises that maintain a regular production and the temporary, regional training centres that are operated by international corporations. By dictating the framework conditions to the operators, Smiling Gecko creates new jobs and apprenticeship positions for the people living in the region that afford them fair compensation and work conditions that are fit for human beings. Spanning areas from construction & architecture to metal, wood, textile and food processing to handicraft, the future operations are intended to form a centre of excellence that promotes vocational training and further education across a wide range of professions. Smiling Gecko is seeking to cooperate with businesses whose operations will complement the existing cluster projects vertically or who are capable of providing services or products needed for the infrastructure of new cluster projects. Aside from reducing cost, these partnerships will help generate additional earnings for the other clusters. Moreover, the interaction between local staff members and outside visitors will strengthen the innovative power and strength of the entire cluster project.

The cooperation with SIKA (Cambodia) LTD serves as a pilot project for the INDUSTRIAL EDUCATION & TRAINING CAMPUS SMILING GECKO as the company is planning on having their staff and customers in South Asia undergo training and receive further education at our cluster project. To this end and as part of the products and services they have committed to render, the company is supplying – free of charge – various subsections for the construction of the Village School Project as well as for other extensions and improvements needed by the other cluster projects.

industrial-education

All opportunities the work and living environment of the Smiling Gecko cluster project has to offer in terms of learning and making new experiences are exploited for educational purposes. The Zurich University of Teacher Education develops programs that teach specific skills of essential importance for the professions offered by the Smiling Gecko cluster project – both in theory and practice. These programs are part of a dynamic curriculum that is made available both to the pupils taking part in the Village School Project and – in the form of course and class camps – to satellite schools in the area. In addition to taking into account the conditions found locally and nation-wide, the curriculum also considers international experiences and the latest discoveries made in educational research. Children and young adults are, thus, given an opportunity to become familiar with a large variety of professions and, if interested, acquire practical experience and expertise in the occupation of their choosing in the context of a dual vocational training system.

These characteristics turn our INDUSTRIAL EDUCATION & TRAINING CAMPUS into a place that serves the dual purpose of education and training facility for industrial operations and training and meeting place for pupils living in the area.

In cooperation with

sika

OTHER PROJECTS

VILLAGE SCHOOL PROJECT

AGRICULTURE FAMILY PROJECT

SMILING GECKO
CARPENTRY

FARMHOUSE SMILING GECKO

SUSTAINABLE GARMENT PRODUCTION

BAMBOO PROJECT

TUK TUK PROJECT

DIRECT AID

SUPPORT OF OTHER NGOS

INDUSTRIAL EDUCATION & TRAINING CAMPUS

Um sich für die Zukunft noch breiter aufzustellen, arbeitet Smiling Gecko daran, über Kooperationen mit renommierten nationalen und internationalen Unternehmen weitere Gewerbebetriebe auf dem Cluster-Areal anzusiedeln.

INDUSTRIAL EDUCATION & TRAINING CAMPUS

Um weitere Ausbildungs- und Arbeitsplätze zu schaffen, arbeitet Smiling Gecko daran, über Kooperationen weitere Gewerbebetriebe auf dem Cluster-Areal anzusiedeln und damit einen GEWERBLICHEN AUS- & WEITERBILDUNGS-CAMPUS zu initiieren. Geplant ist, den Kooperationspartnern geeignete Infrastrukturen (inkl. wohnlicher Behausungen und Gemeinschafts- sowie Erholungsräumen für die Belegschaft) zur Verfügung zu stellen, die sowohl von ständig produzierenden Gewerbe- oder Handwerksbetrieben, als auch als temporäre, regionale Ausbildungszentren von internationalen Unternehmen betrieben werden können. Smiling Gecko setzt die Rahmenbedingungen für die Betreiber und schafft damit für die Menschen aus der Region zusätzliche Arbeits- und Ausbildungsplätze zu fairen Löhnen und unter humanen Bedingungen. Die zukünftigen Betriebe aus den Bereichen Bau & Architektur, Metall-, Holz-, Textil- und Lebensmittelverarbeitung sowie aus dem Handwerk bilden so ein Kompetenzzentrum für Berufsaus- und Weiterbildung in den unterschiedlichsten Berufen. Smiling Gecko sucht die Zusammenarbeit mit Betrieben, die die bestehenden Clusterprojekte vertikal ergänzen oder beim Bau der Infrastruktur neuer Clusterprojekte Dienstleistungen erbringen oder Produkte bereitstellen können. Dadurch können einerseits Kosten eingespart und andererseits zusätzliche Erlöse bei den anderen Clustern generiert werden. Darüber hinaus fördert der Austausch zwischen lokalen Mitarbeitern und externen Besuchern die Innovationskraft und die Stärke des gesamten Clusterprojektes.

Als Pilotprojekt für den INDUSTRIAL EDUCATION & TRAINING CAMPUS SMILING GECKO dient die Zusammenarbeit mit der SIKA (Cambodia) LTD, die ihre südostasiatischen Mitarbeiter und Kunden in unserem Clusterproject schulen und weiterbilden möchte. Hierfür übernehmen sie im Rahmen ihrer Produkte und Dienstleistungen kostenlos verschiedene Gewerke für den Bau des Village School Project, aber auch für Erweiterungen und Verbesserungen bei den anderen Clusterprojekten.

NDUSTRIAL EDUCATION

Alle Lern- und Erfahrungsmöglichkeiten, die die Arbeits- und Lebensumwelt des gesamten Clusterprojektes Smiling Gecko bietet, werden pädagogisch genutzt. Von der Pädagogischen Hochschule Zürich werden spezifische Lern- und Praxisprogramme für die im Smiling Gecko Clusterprojekt angebotenen Berufe erarbeitet und als lebendiges Lernangebot für die Schülerinnen und Schüler des Village School Project, aber auch als Kurs- und Klassenlagerangebot für Kinder von benachbarten Satellitenschulen bereitgestellt. Berücksichtigt werden neben lokalen und nationalen Gegebenheiten auch internationale Erfahrungen und Erkenntnisse aus der aktuellen Bildungsforschung. Die Kinder und Jugendlichen können so verschiedenste Berufe kennenlernen und bei Interesse im dualen System praktische Erfahrungen und Kenntnisse im angestrebten Beruf erlangen.

So fungiert der GEWERBLICHE AUS- UND WEITERBILDUNGS-CAMPUS als Ort regionaler, nationaler und internationaler Aus- und Weiterbildung im gewerblichen Bereich und gleichzeitig als Schulungs- und Begegnungsstätte für Schülerinnen und Schüler aus der Umgebung.

In Kooperation mit

sika

WEITERE PROJEKTE

DORFSCHULPROJEKT

LANDWIRTSCHAFTS-
FAMILIENPROJEKT

SMILING GECKO CARPENTRY

FARMHOUSE SMILING GECKO

NACHHALTIGE TEXTILFABRIKATION

BAMBUS PROJEKT

TUK TUK PROJEKT

DIREKTHILFE

UNTERSTÜTZUNG ANDERER NGO´S