AGRICULTURE FAMILY PROJECT

One of the key pillars buttressing the aid projects supported by Smiling Gecko Cambodia (SGC) is the «Agriculture Family Project» (AFP). Launched in 2014, the project is housed on the cluster property the SGC purchased in the northern province of Kampong Chnang and which, today, extends over 100 ha. By establishing the necessary infrastructure from

drinking water supply and sewerage to electric power and road connections, SGC has laid the foundation for the success of the project. Since 2015, 12 carefully selected families, largely recruited and relocated from slums, have been given a safe and secure future in independent farm businesses that allow them to make a decent living from their own labour.

Landwirtschaftsfamilienprojekt
Farm Projekt
farm-smiling-gecko
Agriculture Family Project
Agriculture Family Project

SECURITY OF INCOME, INDEPENDENCE AND FAIR DISTRIBUTION OF WORK FOR THE FARM FAMILIES

While the land was being prepared for crop production, the first family farms were built. The combination of 12 small farms, designed to breed poultry and pigs, and fields and orchards provides a basic income for the large families settled by SGC and their immediate relatives. True to their commitment to «help for self-help», SGC does not merely hand over these

farms to the families free of charge, but requires them to enter into a lease contract. The farm families will pay SGC a lease rent and will also be solely responsible for the upkeep of the premises and equipment. If they hire external labourers, they must pay a fair wage as well as the necessary social insurance contributions.

LANDWIRTSCHAFTSFAMILIENPROJEKT
Farm Smiling Gecko Hühner
LANDWIRTSCHAFTSFAMILIENPROJEKT
Farm Smiling Gecko Schweine

INDUSTRIAL POULTRY AND PIG BREEDING

Pursuing a strictly scientific approach, Smiling Gecko operates a poultry and pig farm that supplies a stock of chicks and piglets which the farmers can raise as livestock. The industrial poultry and pig breeding guarantees a steady income for Smiling Gecko due consistent quality and minimum sales volumes. The AFP also employs roughly 300 local farmers who produce for Smiling Gecko as a means to supplement and increase their income.  The «Agriculture Family Project» is assisted by the Agricultural education and advisory centre Zug (LBBZ) under the leadership of its rector Martin Pfister. The chicken farming and egg production branch of our

«Agriculture Family Project» is backed by the CIMBRIA foundation. This cooperation allows Smiling Gecko to run the poultry farm in an efficient and sustainable manner. This farm also supplies chicks to our farm families who, in turn, will raise the chicks to maturity following the principles and latest discoveries in modern poultry farming. In an attempt to stimulate egg production and enhance fertility in the chicken, the coops and the chicken breeds are optimised, respectively, following the recommendations of the LBBZ and selecting the breeds that are most likely to thrive in the climatic conditions at hand.

Hühnerzucht
Schweinezucht
IMG_6397
Schweinezucht

LOCAL VALUE CHAIN

Only a small portion of the food produced by the AFP is intended to feed the families working on the farms. Most of the produce, which is purely organic and grown according to sustainable principles, is sold. Examples of the customers the farms supply with the foods they produce are the Farmhouse Smiling Gecko and, in future, the cafeteria of the Village School Project as well as the kitchen of the Sustainable Garment Production facility. Over time, the AFP will generate sufficient income to fund itself, allowing SGC to cover the operating costs of the Village School Project and to invest in additional aid projects. Overall, the project enables former slum dwellers to earn a proper living and to become financially independent instead

of having to subsist on scraps of food left by others. Before joining the project, many of the families lived on the street. Now, they have a proper home with four solid walls. As their future is now much more secure, they can make decisions and learn to take responsibility for their own lives. However, farming is a profession that cannot be controlled one hundred per cent and always involves the risk of a poor harvest or animals falling ill, etc. For this reason, it is important not to rely on one pillar alone, but to support it with other sources, thereby creating a sound foundation for the entire community.

Farm Smiling Gecko Anbau
LOKALER WERTEFLUSS
Farm Smiling Gecko Anbau
LOKALER WERTEFLUSS

A CRUCIAL PIECE OF INFRASTRUCTURE – LOCAL SCHOOLS

Following the cluster system developed by SGC, a number of important facilities and services are being established around the «Agriculture Family Project» farms, serving both the farming families and the wider local community and bringing them closer together. For the future, we plan on building a number of communal premises such as storage sheds

and abattoirs. At the moment, our focus is, however, on upgrading schools. Through the «Village School Project» and other educational services and programs, SGC works hard to give the young people in the area new opportunities, enabling them to take up a trade or profession that will sustain them and their families in the future.

Agriculture Family Project
Agriculture Family Project

In cooperation with

lbbz
OTHER PROJECTS

VILLAGE SCHOOL PROJECT

TUK TUK PROJECT

SMILING GECKO
CARPENTRY

DIRECT AID

FARMHOUSE SMILING GECKO

SUPPORT OF OTHER NGOS

SUSTAINABLE GARMENT PRODUCTION

INDUSTRIAL EDUCATION & TRAINING CAMPUS

BAMBOO PROJECT

LANDWIRTSCHAFTSFAMILIENPROJEKT

Eine Säule der Hilfsprojekte von Smiling Gecko Kambodscha (SGC) ist das «Agriculture Family Project» (AFP = Landwirtschaftsfamilienprojekt). Das 2014 gestartete Projekt steht auf dem von SGC in der nördlichen Provinz von Kampong Chnang erstandenen und heute rd. 100 ha umfassenden Clustergrundstück in der nördlichen Provinz von Kampong Chnang. Durch den Aufbau von Wasserversorgungen, Kanalisationen,

Stromversorgungen und Strassenanschlüssen konnte SGC mit der Urbanmachung des Landstriches die langfristige Infrastruktur und Basis für das Projekt schaffen. Seit 2015 haben 12 sorgfältig ausgesuchte und grösstenteils aus den Slums umgesiedelte Familien eine sichere und garantierte Zukunft auf den eigenständigen Landwirtschaftsbetrieben.

Landwirtschaftsfamilienprojekt
Farm Projekt
farm-smiling-gecko
Agriculture Family Project
Agriculture Family Project

SICHERHEIT, SELBSTÄNDIGKEIT UND ARBEITSVERTEILUNG FÜR DIE BAUERNFAMILIEN

Mit der Urbanmachung des Landstriches ging der AFP-Aufbau einher. Die Kombination von 12 kleinen Bauernhöfen zur Aufzucht von Hühnern und Schweinen sowie Feldern und Fruchtbäumen bildet die Einkommensbasis für die von SGC angesiedelten Grossfamilien mit all ihren Angehörigen. Nach dem Motto «Hilfe zur Selbsthilfe» bekommen die Familien

die Höfe aber nicht einfach geschenkt oder umsonst zur Verfügung gestellt. Die Farmfamilien zahlen an SGC einen Pachtzins, zeichnen für den Unterhalt der Einrichtungen verantwortlich und sind unter Hilfestellung selbst dafür zuständig, Hilfskräften gerechte Löhne zu zahlen und Sozialversicherungen zu finanzieren.

LANDWIRTSCHAFTSFAMILIENPROJEKT
Farm Smiling Gecko Hühner
LANDWIRTSCHAFTSFAMILIENPROJEKT
Farm Smiling Gecko Schweine

INDUSTRIELLE HÜHNER- UND SCHWEINEZUCHT

Daneben betreibt Smiling Gecko auf wissenschaftlicher Basis eine industrielle Hühner- und Schweinezucht, aus deren Bestand die Farmfamilien ihre Küken und Ferkel erhalten um diese aufzuziehen. Die industrielle Hühner- und Schweinezucht garantiert ein regelmässiges Einkommen für Smiling Gecko bedingt durch gleichbleibende Qualität und gleichmässige Mindestabsatzmengen. Zusätzlich beschäftigt AFP rund 300 lokale Bauern, die für Smiling Gecko produzieren und dadurch ebenfalls ihr Einkommen steigern. Unterstützt wird das «Agriculture Family Project» vom Landwirtschaftlichen Bildungs- und Beratungszentrum Zug (LBBZ) unter der Leitung von Rektor Martin Pfister. Im «Agriculture Family Project» werden wir

im Bereich der Hühnerzucht und Eierproduktion von der CIMBRIA-Foundation unterstützt. Mit Hilfe dieser Kooperation entwickelt Smiling Gecko eine effiziente und nachhaltige Geflügelfarm. Auch unsere Farmfamilien erhalten ihre Küken zur Aufzucht aus dieser, nach modernen landwirtschaftlichen Gesichtspunkten konzipierten Hühnerzucht. Um die Eierproduktion zu optimieren und die Fruchtbarkeit der Hühner zu verbessern werden die Hühnerställe nach den Empfehlungen der LBBZ optimiert und die Hühnerrassen hinsichtlich ihrer optimalen Anpassung an die lokalen klimatischen Gegebenheiten ausgewählt.

Hühnerzucht
Schweinezucht
IMG_6397
Schweinezucht

LOKALER WERTEFLUSS

Die über AFP produzierten Lebensmittel dienen nur zu einem kleinen Teil zur Selbstversorgung der Farmfamilien. Zu einem grösseren Teil werden die nachhaltig und rein organisch produzierten Produkte aber weiterverkauft. So werden u.a. auch das Farmhouse Smiling Gecko sowie zukünftig auch die Mensa des Village School Project und die Küche der Sustainable Garment Production mit den auf den Farmen produzierten Lebensmitteln beliefert. Mit der Zeit erwirtschaftet das selbsttragende AFP Erlöse, die es SGC ermöglichen, die laufenden Kosten des Village School Projects zu tragen und in weitere Hilfsprojekte zu investieren. Insgesamt fördert das Projekt

damit die Selbständigkeit der ehemaligen Slumbewohner, die früher von den Abfällen anderer abhängig waren. Durch die Hilfe von SGC erfahren diese einst auf der Strasse lebenden Menschen wieder was es heisst, ein Leben in den eigenen vier Wänden mit Stolz und Eigenverantwortung zu führen. Landwirtschaft ist aber nicht hundertprozentig kalkulierbar, es besteht immer das Risiko einer schlechteren Ernte, Tiere können Krankheiten bekommen etc. Darum ist es wichtig, sich nicht nur auf diese eine Säule abzustützen, sondern eine solide Basis zu schaffen, mit der das Fundament der gesamten Community gelegt wird.

Farm Smiling Gecko Anbau
LOKALER WERTEFLUSS
Farm Smiling Gecko Anbau
LOKALER WERTEFLUSS

WICHTIGE INFRASTRUKTUR - LOKALE SCHULEN

Im Rahmen des von SGC erfolgreich eingeführten Cluster-Prinzips entstehen rund um das Agriculture Family Project» diverse Einrichtungen, die den AFP-Bauernfamilien und der lokalen Bevölkerung ein einvernehmliches und gleichzeitig fruchtbares Miteinander garantieren. Dazu werden in Zukunft diverse Gemeinschaftsgebäude wie Lager- oder Schlachthäuser gehören,

sowie die, für eine funktionierende Gesellschaft wichtige Schule. Hier sorgt SGC mit dem «Village School Project» und Bildungsangeboten dafür, dass sich die junge Bevölkerung Zukunftsperspektiven erarbeiten und so den Weg in ein sicheres Berufsleben beschreiten kann.

Agriculture Family Project
Agriculture Family Project

In Kooperation mit

lbbz

WEITERE PROJEKTE

DORFSCHULPROJEKT

SMILING GECKO CARPENTRY

FARMHOUSE SMILING GECKO

NACHHALTIGE TEXTILFABRIKATION

INDUSTRIAL EDUCATION & TRAINING CAMPUS

BAMBUS PROJEKT

TUK TUK PROJEKT

DIREKTHILFE

UNTERSTÜTZUNG ANDERER NGO´S