SUSTAINABLE GARMENT EDUCATION & PRODUCTION

Projected to be located in the immediate vicinity of our other SGC projects, the sustainable garment education and production facility will be instrumental to the success of the overall system. Initially intended to offer approximately 300 people from the region an opportunity to train and to work for fair compensation under humane conditions, the facility is supposed to generate regular, calculable profits that will be allocated to covering the operating costs of the village school project.

THE SITUATION

Accounting for 80 % of its exports, the textile industry is Cambodia’s main source of export revenue. Cambodia is well-known for the fact that especially women and girls are exploited in the growing textile industry without any workprotection and insurance. Day by day, hundreds of thousands of people from poor rural areas are trucked to the textile factories in the suburbs of Phnom Penh where they work in what can only be described as sweatshops, earning barely enough to survive. The textile industry is a sector whose proceeds do not beneft the people of Cambodia – quite the contrary: the profts are generated on the backs and at the expense of the workers. At the present time, the minimum wages earned by the garment workers in Cambodia are not anywhere close to affording them a living that is ft for human beings. Predominantly recruited from areas in

the countryside, most of the nearly 600,000 women working at the textile factories are the main bread winner in the family. Worse yet, they are forced to work in conditions that are likely to harm their health and safety. Exposed to uncomfortable chairs, heat, pressure of time, poor ventilation or the impact of handling harmful chemicals 14 hours a day, seven days a week, female Cambodian workers often harbour feelings for utter hopelessness and desperation. The health and safety standards applicable in Cambodia are exceptionally poor. Worse yet, compliance with these insuffcient standards is not at all or hardly ever confrmed.

With its «Sustainable Garment Education & Production» project (SGEP), SGC wants to break this vicious cycle.

Nachhaltige Textilfabrikation
Nachhaltige Textilfabrikation

SUSTAINABLE GARMENT EDUCATION & PRODUCTION

We want to offer well organized systematic training for textile workers in the garment industry for young cambodians so that they can subsequently make a living based on their education and skills. The projected sustainable garment education and production facility will play a vital role as an additional pillar in our overall cluster concept. Initially, the business is to employ and to train around 300 local people, paying fair wages and offering equally fair and safe working conditions (if necessary, the factory can be extended in the future). Smiling Gecko provides the infrastructure (including comfortable housing with common and recreational rooms for the workforce) and defnes the framework conditions for the operator. SGC also commits the producers to have their textile products tested and certifed by Bluesign System, an independent standards organisation for sustainably produced clothing.

The production facility offers in-house support programs that are intended to give talented and creative members of the staff an opportunity to flourish and hone their skills. It, furthermore, provides graduates of the village

school project with additional training if they wish to enter into a sustainable garment production career that matches their individual predilections and talents.

In the long run, the income from leasing the infrastructure and from the licences issued is supposed to cover the operating costs of the school house project.

The goal behind the «Sustainable Garment Education & Production» pursued by SGC is to improve the income of people in rural regions and to attain the goal of economic proftability, which also represents a key objective of developmental aid. NGOs such as SGC, therefore, always need to keep the long-term outcomes of their work in focus.

Through these schemes, SGC will ensure that its development aid projects will have lasting positive outcomes for both individuals and the local community.

A88I0488
TEXTILE-WORKER

THE INFRASTRUCTURE

The textile factory is planned in close proximity to the other projects operated by SGC. It will be built in up to three staggered phases from 2018 on. The entire factory complex is designed in close cooperation with the ETH Zurich (Department of Architecture and Construction) under the direction of Professor Dirk E. Hebel. All workers will enjoy safe and comfortable work places. Modelled after the drafts prepared for the Village School Project, the architecture is characterised by minimalistic modular standard elements that can be produced using simple means.

Construction relies on regional building materials and takes the local climatic conditions carefully into consideration. Key components of the construction such as the supporting columns and the roof construction can – similarly to the village school project – be manufactured and installed by Smiling Gecko’s own carpentry workshop. Around the factory hall, a number of dwellings, communal facilities and recreational rooms for workers are projected to be built.

Sustainable
FACTORY-3
FACTORY
Factory-Map
Factory-Vogelperspektive

SUSTAINABILITY AND WORKER TRAINING

With «Sustainable Garment Education & Production», Smiling Gecko aims to prove that it is defnitely possible to create a fair income structure and humane work terms and conditions in Cambodia’s workplace and in the educational and/or vocational training environment, while remaining economical and competitive.

All staff and apprentices have regulated work and rest/break schedules. A 40-hour work week is in plan. Breaks can be enjoyed, either indoors in communal rooms or outdoors. A balanced diet of the workforce with 3 meals per day is ensured by the canteen operated by Smiling Gecko. All staff and apprentices will have social insurance, including compulsory health insurance and maternity benefts protection. Local medical care will be provided by the Smiling Gecko health station which is currently in planning.

To ensure the long-term success of the Sustainable Garment Education & Production project, SGC has teamed up with a number of renowned organisations. SGC is currently in negotiations with renowned textile manufatoring companies regarding the operation of the training and production facilities. The project is supported by the ILO (International Labour Organisation), the IFC (International Finance Cooperation) and the Fair Wear Foundation. But that is not all: SGC has also undertaken to have the operator’s textile products tested and certifed by Bluesign System, an independent standards organisation for sustainably produced clothing. Bluesign promotes the ethical production of textiles. To obtain the Bluesign mark, manufacturers must refrain from using polluting or otherwise harmful substances in their production processes.

In cooperation with

ETH Zürich
Dirk Hebel

THE 4 PILLARS

Social responsibility

Smiling Gecko cooperates with the following partners:

  • Better Work Programme
    – ILO (International Labour Organisation)
    – IFC (International Finance Cooperation)
    – Fair Wear Foundation
  • SA8000 Certifcation (SAI – Social Accountability International)
  • Living Wage Foundation
  • Various partnerships with established Swiss companies

Environmental sustainability

  • Textiles certified by Bluesign
  • Natural cooling and ventilation
  • Sustainable waste management
  • Communal waste water treatment plant
  • Residence and transport options for all employees

Economic stability

  • Secure initial funding by partners
  • Management consisting of local workers, assisted by international experts
    (in areas such as agriculture, textile production, architecture, etc.)
  • Audits by large global audit frms
  • Expert assistance from ETH Zurich
  • Win-win for all parties
  • Earnings are reinvested in the holistic cluster project

Education

  • Smiling Gecko guarantees basic schooling of children, as a prerequisite for further vocational training at the workfashion.com textile factory
  • gifted and creative workers are trained in merchandising (garment design – product development)
  • didates for the management team are recruited from the graduates of the Smiling Gecko high school
  • Study grants enable gifted individuals to further their careers

OTHER PROJECTS

VILLAGE SCHOOL PROJECT

AGRICULTURE FAMILY PROJECT

SMILING GECKO
CARPENTRY

FARMHOUSE SMILING GECKO

INDUSTRIAL EDUCATION & TRAINING CAMPUS

BAMBOO PROJECT

TUK TUK PROJECT

DIRECT AID

SUPPORT OF OTHER NGOS

NACHHALTIGE TEXTILAUSBILDUNG & -FABRIKATION

Die geplante, nachhaltige Textilausbildung und -Produktion in unmittelbarer Nähe zu den anderen SGC-Projekten spielt eine wichtige Rolle im Gesamtsystem. Sie soll vorerst rund 300 Personen aus der Region Ausbildung und Arbeit zu fairen Löhnen und unter humanen Bedingungen bieten und darüber hinaus regelmässige, kalkulierbare Erträge erwirtschaften, die dazu beitragen, die laufenden Kosten des Dorfschulprojektes zu finanzieren.

DIE SITUATION

Der Hauptexportsektor Kambodschas ist mit einem Anteil von 80% die Textilindustrie. Kambodscha ist aber leider auch bekannt dafür, dass vor allem Frauen und Mädchen ohne jeglichen Arbeits- und Versicherungsschutz in der wachsenden Bekleidungsindustrie ausgebeutet werden. Täglich werden hunderttausende Billigarbeitskräfte vom Lande in Lastwagenladungen zu den Textilfabriken in den Aussenbezirken von Phnom Penh gekarrt, wo sie harte Arbeit verrichten müssen, die kaum ein genügend grosses Einkommen generiert. Die Textilindustrie ist ein Sektor, bei dem die Erträge nicht der kambodschanischen Bevölkerung zugutekommen, sondern im Gegenteil werden die Gewinne auf Kosten der Arbeiter/innen erzielt.

Die aktuellen Mindestlöhne der Textilarbeiter in Kambodscha reichen bei Weitem nicht aus für ein menschenwürdiges Leben.

Die meisten der rd. 600.000 weiblichen Beschäftigten in den Textilfabriken sind die Haupt-Brotverdiener für ihre Familien auf dem Land. Hinzu kommen die menschenunwürdigen Arbeitsbedingungen. Ungemütliche Stühle, Hitze, Zeitdruck, schlechte Belüftung oder der Umgang mit gefährlichen Chemikalien, 14 Stunden am Tag, sieben Tage die Woche, sorgen bei den kambodschanischen Arbeiter/innen oft genug dafür, dass sie weder ein noch aus wissen. In Kambodscha gelten extrem niedrige arbeitsrechtliche Standards, deren Einhaltung kaum bis gar nicht kontrolliert wird. Diesen Teufelskreis soll die «SUSTAINABLE GARMENT EDUCATION & PRODUCTION» (SGEP = nachhaltige Textilausbildung und -produktion) durchbrechen.

Nachhaltige Textilfabrikation
Nachhaltige Textilfabrikation

SUSTAINABLE GARMENT EDUCATION & PRODUCTION

Wir wollen für junge Kambodschaner eine gut organisierte systematische Ausbildung in der Bekleidungsindustrie ermöglichen, damit sie anschließend als qualifzierte Textilarbeiter auf der Grundlage ihrer Fähigkeiten und Ausbildung selbstbestimmt leben können.

Die geplante, nachhaltige Textilausbildung und -produktion spielt als weiteres Standbein eine wichtige Rolle im Gesamtcluster. Sie soll vorerst rund 300 Personen aus der Region Ausbildung und Arbeit zu fairen Löhnen und unter humanen Bedingungen bieten (Erweiterungen zu einem späteren Zeitpunkt möglich). Smiling Gecko stellt die Infrastruktur (inkl. wohnlicher Behausungen und Gemeinschafts- sowie Erholungsräumen für die Belegschaft) und setzt die Rahmenbedingungen für den Betreiber. Der Textilpartner soll die Gebäude mit Arbeitsplätzen und Maschinen sowohl für die Ausbildung als auch für eine begrenzte Produktion ausstatten. Die Betreiber bilden Textilarbeiter/innen sorgfältig und systematisch aus und werden verpflichtet, die Textilproduktion vom unabhängigen Textilstandard Bluesign System zertifzieren zu lassen.

In der Produktion wird talentierten und kreativen Angestellten mit internen Förderprogrammen die Möglichkeit geboten werden, sich weiterzuentwickeln und Absolventen des Dorfschulprojektes können je nach Neigung und Begabung in die nachhaltige Textilausbildung einsteigen. Die Erträge aus Verpachtung der Infrastruktur und Lizenzen sollen dazu beitragen, die laufenden Kosten des Schulhausprojektes langfristig zu sichern. Mit der «Sustainable Garment Education & Production» will SGC die Prosperität in der ländlichen Region sicherstellen und dafür sorgen, dass die wirtschaftliche Proftabilität als ebenso wichtiges Anliegen der Entwicklungshilfe erreicht wird. Nur mit dieser Nachhaltigkeit kann die Hilfe eines NGO‘s wie SGC auf Dauer Bestand haben. Damit schliesst sich der Kreis der von SGC ins Leben gerufenen Hilfsprojekte sinnvoll und hoffentlich dauerhaft.

A88I0488
TEXTILE-WORKER

DIE INFRASTRUKTUR

Die Textilfabrikation ist in unmittelbarer Nähe zu den anderen SGC-Projekten vorgesehen und wird voraussichtlich ab 2018 in bis zu 3 Phasen gebaut. Die Planung der ganzen Fabrikationsanlage ist in enger Kooperation mit der ETH Zürich, (Department Architektur und Konstruktion) unter der Leitung von Professor Dirk E. Hebel bereits fertiggestellt. Sie soll den hier Arbeitenden das bestmögliche Arbeitsklima liefern. Die Architektur basiert auf den Entwürfen für das Village School Project und verwendet die minimalistischen, modularen und mit einfachen Mitteln produzierbaren  Standardelemente.

Sie bedient sich regionaler Baumaterialien und orientiert sich stark an den lokalen klimatischen Gegebenheiten. Wichtige Bestandteile der Konstruktion, wie die Tragesäulen und die Dachkonstruktion können wie beim Dorfschulprojekt von der Smiling Gecko Carpentry produziert und montiert werden. Rund um die zentrale Fabrikationshalle sind wohnliche Behausungen, Gemeinschafts- und Erholungsräume sowie eine Kantine für die Belegschaft geplant.

Sustainable
FACTORY-3
FACTORY
Factory-Map
Factory-Vogelperspektive

In Kooperation mit

ETH Zürich
Dirk Hebel

NACHHALTIGKEIT UND FÖRDERUNG

Mit der «Sustainable Garment Education & Production» möchte Smiling Gecko den Beweis erbringen, dass es durchaus möglich ist, in Kambodschas Ausbildungs – und Arbeitsplätze mit fairen Einkommen und humanen Arbeitsbedingungen zu schaffen und dabei dennoch wirtschaftlich und wettbewerbsfähig zu sein.

Alle Mitarbeiter und Auszubildenden haben geregelte Arbeits- und Pausenzeiten. Vorgesehen ist ein 40- Stunden Arbeitspensum pro Woche. Pausen können in den dafür vorgesehenen Gemeinschaftsräumen oder im Freien gemacht werden. Eine ausgewogene Ernährung der Belegschaft mit 3 Mahlzeiten pro Tag wird durch die von Smiling Gecko betriebene Kantine gewährleistet. Darüber hinaus werden alle Mitarbeiter sozialversichert und haben einen obligatorischen Krankenversicherungs- und Mutterschutz.

Die lokale medizinische Versorgung wird durch die geplante Smiling Gecko–Gesundheitsstation gewährleistet. Zur Sicherstellung des ganzen Projektes arbeitet SGC mit namhaften Organisationen zusammen, die gemeinsam die Nachhaltigkeit der SGEP garantieren. Als Betreiber für der Ausbildungsstätte und Produktion steht Smiling Gecko in Vertragsverhandlungen mit namhaften Textilherstellern. Unterstützung erhält das Projekt zudem von der ILO (International Labour Organisation), der IFC (International Finance Cooperation) und von der Fair Wear Foundation. Damit nicht genug, verpflichtet SGC den Betreiber, die Textilproduktion vom unabhängigen Textilstandard Bluesign System zertifzieren zu lassen. Bluesign steht für die nachhaltige Herstellung von Textilien, ohne umweltbelastende Substanzen im gesamten Fertigungsprozess.

DIE 4 SÄULEN

Soziale Verantwortung

Smiling Gecko kooperiert mit den folgendSmiling Gecko kooperiert mit den folgenden Partnern:

  • Better Work Programme
    – ILO (International Labour Organisation)
    – IFC (International Finance Cooperation)
    – Fair Wear Foundation
  • SA8000 Certifcation (SAI – Social Accountability International)
  • Living Wage Foundation
  • Various partnerships with established Swiss companies

Ökologische Nachhaltigkeit

  • Die Stoffe werden bluesign zertifziert
  • Natürliche Kühlung und Ventilation
  • Gesamtheitliches Abfallmanagement
  • Zentrale Kläranlage
  • Wohn- oder Transportmöglichkeiten für alle Beschäftigten

Ökonomische Stabilität

  • Sichere Initialfnanzierung durch die beteiligten Partner
  • Management durch lokale Mitarbeiter, die von internationalen Experten unterstützt werden (Spezialisten aus den Bereichen Landwirtschaft, Textilverarbeitung, Architektur etc.)
  • Geprüft von internationalen Wirtschaftsprüfungsgesellschaften
  • Unterstützt von der ETH Zürich
  • Win-Win für alle beteiligten Parteien
  • Erträge fliessen zurück in das ganzheitliche Clusterprojekt

Bildung

  • Smiling Gecko garantiert eine Grundausbildung als Voraussetzung für die textile Berufsausbildung
  • Talentierte und kreative Mitarbeiter werden im Merchandising unterrichtet (Schnittentwicklung – Produktentwicklung)
  • Kandidaten für das Management werden aus Smiling Gecko High-School Talenten rekrutiert.
  • Stipendien helfen, die individuellen Karriere-Potentiale auszuschöpfen

DIE SUSTAINABLE GARMENT EDUCATION & PRODUCTION IN SCHLAGWORTEN

  • Ausbildungs- und Arbeitsplätze für zunächst bis zu 300 Kambodschaner aus der Region
  • Faire Löhne und humane Arbeitsbedingungen
  • Produktionsstätten, Gemeinschafts- und Erholungsräume nach neuesten arbeitstechnischen Gesichtspunkten von der ETH Zürich geplant
  • Ausbildungen im dualen System für Absolventen der Smiling Gecko-Schule möglich
  • Ausgewogene Ernährung mit 3 Mahlzeiten pro Tag durch den Betrieb einer eigenen Kantine gewährleistet
  • Geregelte Arbeitszeiten mit 5-Tagewoche und 8 Stunden pro Tag sowie regelmässigen Pausen
  • Obligatorischer Krankenversicherungs- und Mutterschutz
  • Bereitstellung der Infrastruktur und Dienstleistungen durch Smiling Gecko
  • Ausbildung, Leitung und Betrieb durch ein renommiertes Textilunternehmen
  • Enge Zusammenarbeit mit internationalen Fairtrade- und Zertifzierungsorganisationen

WEITERE PROJEKTE

DORFSCHULPROJEKT

LANDWIRTSCHAFTS-
FAMILIENPROJEKT

SMILING GECKO CARPENTRY

FARMHOUSE SMILING GECKO

INDUSTRIAL EDUCATION & TRAINING CAMPUS

BAMBUS PROJEKT

TUK TUK PROJEKT

DIREKTHILFE

UNTERSTÜTZUNG ANDERER NGO´S