SMILING GECKO CARPENTRY

The Smiling Gecko carpentry workshop started operation in August of 2016. The new operation has created additional jobs and apprenticeship positions for up to 15 young Cambodians. The carpentry workshop is in charge of all new construction as well as all renovation and restoration work that needs to be performed on the sites that make up the cluster project, thus cutting down the original costs and the maintenance costs associated with the infrastructure. In the medium term, the carpentry workshop is supposed to become a viable enterprise covering its own costs, not least through offering its services and products to customers in the marketplace.

The Smiling Gecko Carpentry workshop represents the youngest pillar that buttresses our cluster project. In an effort to meet the growing demand for joinery and carpentry work in a quick and cost-effective manner, we erected a carpentry workshop according to Swiss standards that spreads over an area of approx. 400 m2. The machinery has been salvaged from a factory damaged by fire and has been donated to Smiling Gecko by EIGENMANN AG. All pieces of equipment and machinery have been fully serviced and professionally installed on site by Swiss specialists. A Swiss master carpenter supervised installation and is now in charge of managing the carpentry workshop.

Bildschirmfoto-2016-08-31-um-09.38
IMG_1210

In line with all Smiling Gecko projects, the carpentry workshop will, of course, be run so that young Cambodians can obtain a vocational qualification that will enable them to support themselves and their families in the long run. The workshop manager will train young local people in theory and practice to become qualified carpenters. To achieve this, the project managers are currently drawing up a training plan appropriate for Cambodia. The use of locally produced materials and the climatic conditions will be the cornerstones of the project.

The carpentry workshop will be involved in the construction, renovation and refurbishment of buildings that form part of the cluster projects: Agriculture Family Project, Village School Project, Sustainable Garment Production, Industrial Education & Training Campus and Farmhouse Smiling Gecko. The workshop will reduce the overall construction costs of new buildings and make it easier and cheaper to maintain and refurbish existing facilities. The carpentry workshop charges the other cluster projects for their services and also offers their services to other outside customers in the area. This approach has turned the carpentry workshop into a self-financing operation whose profits are kept in the cluster project.

Smiling Gecko Carpentry
Smiling Gecko Carpentry
Smiling Gecko Carpentry
Smiling Gecko Carpentry

The «Smiling Gecko Carpentry» is supported by the Center for Development and Cooperation, CDC, a section at the Technical College of Bern – architecture, woodwork and constructions

berner fachhochschule

OTHER PROJECTS

VILLAGE SCHOOL PROJECT

AGRICULTURE FAMILY PROJECT

FARMHOUSE SMILING GECKO

SUSTAINABLE GARMENT PRODUCTION

INDUSTRIAL EDUCATION & TRAINING CAMPUS

BAMBOO PROJECT

TUK TUK PROJECT

DIRECT AID

SUPPORT OF OTHER NGOS

SMILING GECKO CARPENTRY

Im August 2016 hat die Smiling Gecko Schreinerei ihren Betrieb aufgenommen. Damit wurden zusätzliche Arbeits- und Ausbildungsplätze für bis zu 15 junge Kambodschaner geschaffen. Die Carpentry übernimmt Neubau-, Renovierungs- und Restaurierungsarbeiten für die Anlagen aller anderen Clusterprojekte und reduziert so die Gestehungs- und Instandhaltungskosten der Infrastruktur. Gleichzeitig soll sich auch die Schreinerei mittelfristig selbst finanzieren und ihre Leistungen lokal auch im Markt anbieten.

Die Smiling Gecko Carpentry ist die jüngste Säule des Clusterprojektes. Um den wachsenden Bedarf an Schreiner- und Tischlerarbeiten schnell und kostengünstig selbst erledigen zu können, wurde auf rd. 400 m2 eine Schreinerei nach Schweizer Standard errichtet. Der Maschinenpark stammt aus einem Brandschaden und wurde Smiling Gecko von der Firma EIGENMANN AG gestiftet. Alle Maschinen und Einrichtungen sind generalüberholt und wurden vor Ort professionell von Schweizer Spezialisten installiert. Ein Schweizer Schreinermeister hat den Aufbau begleitet und leitet jetzt die Schreinerei.

Bildschirmfoto-2016-08-31-um-09.38
IMG_1210

Wie bei allen Smiling Gecko-Projekten, wird auch bei der Schreinerei besonderer Wert daraufgelegt, dass junge Kambodschaner eine qualifizierte Ausbildung erhalten, die sie dazu befähigt, den Lebensunterhalt für sich und ihre Familien nachhaltig selbst zu verdienen. Der Leiter der Schreinerei bildet junge Einheimische im dualen System in Theorie und Praxis des Schreinerhandwerks aus. Hierzu wird ein auf die kambodschanischen Verhältnisse angepasster Ausbildungsplan erstellt. Besonders berücksichtigt wird die Verwendung lokaler Materialien und klimatischer Gegebenheiten.

Die Schreinerei übernimmt Neubau-, Renovierungs- und Restaurierungsarbeiten für Anlagen der Clusterprojekte: Agriculture Family Project, Village School Project, Sustainable Garment Production, Industrial Education & Training Campus und Farmhouse Smiling Gecko. Das senkt die Gestehungskosten der Neubauten und ermöglicht eine kostengünstige Instandhaltung der bestehenden Anlagen. Die Carpentry verrechnet den anderen Clusterprokten ihre Leistungen und bietet diese lokal auch externen Kunden an. So finanziert sich die Schreinerei selbst und Überschüsse verbleiben im Clusterprojekt.

Smiling Gecko Carpentry
Smiling Gecko Carpentry
Smiling Gecko Carpentry
Smiling Gecko Carpentry

Unterstützt wird die « Smiling Gecko Carpentry » vom Center for Development and Cooperation CDC der Berner Fachhochschule – Architektur, Holz und Bau

berner fachhochschule

WEITERE PROJEKTE

DORFSCHULPROJEKT

LANDWIRTSCHAFTS-
FAMILIENPROJEKT

FARMHOUSE SMILING GECKO

NACHHALTIGE TEXTILFABRIKATION

INDUSTRIAL EDUCATION & TRAINING CAMPUS

BAMBUS PROJEKT

TUK TUK PROJEKT

DIREKTHILFE

UNTERSTÜTZUNG ANDERER NGO´S