Village School Project

Current state of the project / progress

In December 2016, the planning of the architecture by the ETH team under the direction of Prof. Dirk E. Hebel was completed with a ready-to-go, realizable project. The adaptation to the local regulations and the approval of the project were also finalized in spring 2017. In April 2017, the earthworks started. First of all, the whole school area had to be raised. The construction site is huge and we will be moving 600’000 m3 of soil. The result is a lake of 110,000m3 which will be used for the irrigation of our agricultural projects in the future. Although the rainy season, which had started too early, leads to delays, we are sure to be able to take up the school operation with the kindergarten and the first school year in November17.

A88I1578  A88I1580

A88I1591  A88I1581

 

In January, our carpentry team has built a model schoolhouse. The load bearing structure and roof construction have passed the static stress test without problems. The school house is currently being used as a warehouse for the wood and material and after completion of the building, it will be used as a school campus. In the carpenter’s workshop, more than 30 people, led by Swiss carpenters Tobias Blessing, Lukas Koch and Carpenter & Architect Lukas Thalmann on the preparation of the supporting structure and roof construction for the Village School Project. The construction of the New School is very labor intensive. Weekly adjustments in reference to the design details must be discussed with ETH and are on the agenda as well as regular meetings with the local contractors. Time sequences must be planned and adhered to.

IMG_0484  IMG_0158

IMG_0089  IMG_0038

 

At the same time, the PH Zurich is developing a curriculum and starting with the training of the first local teachers. In the office in Phnom Penh, the recruitment of teachers for the new school is in full swing. Sam, the director of the school, is responsible for the tender for the students, tutorial, training of the teachers, timetable, design of the school uniforms, furnishing, ordering the school materials, etc. We will hold monthly conference calls with the PH Zurich. In September, the first Swiss teacher will be going to Cambodia for six month to support the local teachers.

Related Posts

Comments (1)

  1. Ramer Elisabeth
    July 10, 2017

    Es ist bewundernswert was hier geleistet wird.

    Reply

Leave a Comment!

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Village School Project

Aktueller Stand des Projekts / Baufortschritt

Im Dezember 2016 konnte die Planung der Architektur durch das ETH-Team unter der Leitung von Prof. Dirk E. Hebel mit einem fertigen, realisierbaren Genehmigungsprojekt  abgeschlossen werden. Die Anpassung an die lokalen Bestimmungen und die Genehmigung des Projekts wurde im Frühjahr 2017 ebenfalls finalisiert. Im April 2017 haben die Erdarbeiten begonnen. Zunächst musste das ganze Schulareal angehoben werden. Die Baustelle ist riesig und wir bewegen 600’000 m3 Erde. Dabei entsteht ein 110’000m3 grosser See, der zukünftig für die Bewässerung unserer Landwirtschaft genutzt wird. Obwohl die zu früh einsetzende Regenzeit zu Verzögerungen führt, sind wir sicher, im November den Schulbetrieb mit dem Kindergarten und dem 1. Schuljahr aufnehmen zu können.

A88I1578  A88I1580

A88I1591  A88I1581

 

Im Januar hat unser Zimmerei-Team eine Muster-Schulhaus gebaut. Die Tragstruktur und Dachkonstruktion hat den statischen Stresstest ohne Probleme bestanden. Das Muster-Schulhaus wird im Moment als Lager für das Holz und Material verwendet und nach der Fertigstellung des Baues wird es als Schulcampus genutzt.In der Schreinerei arbeiten schon über 30 Personen unter der Leitung der Schweizer Schreiner Tobias Blessing, Lukas Koch und dem Zimmermann & Architekten Lukas Thalmann an der Vorbereitung der Tragstruktur und Dachkonstruktion für das Village School Project. Der Bau der Neuen Schule nimmt alle sehr in Anspruch. Wöchentliche Anpassungen der Konstruktionsdetails müssen mit ETH besprochen werden und stehen genauso in der Agenda wie regelmässige Besprechungen mit den lokalen Bauunternehmern. Zeitabläufe müssen geplant und eingehalten werden.

IMG_0484  IMG_0158

IMG_0089  IMG_0038

 

Parallel dazu entwickelt die PH Zürich einen Lehrplan und startet mit der Weiterbildung der ersten lokalen Lehrer. Auch die  Suche nach qualifizierten Lehrern für unsere Schule durch unsere lokalen Kollegen läuft im Büro in Phnom Penh bereits erfolgreich. Für die neue Schule ist die Rekrutierung der Lehrer und des Personals im vollen Gang. Sam der Direktor der Schule ist verantwortlich für die Ausschreibung für die Schüler, Lernprogramm, Ausbildung der Lehrer, Stundenplan, Design der Schuluniformen, Möblierung, Bestellen der Schulmaterials etc. etc. etc.. Wir halten monatliche Conference Calls mit der PH Zürich. Im September geht der erste Schweizer Lehrer zur Unterstützung der lokalen Lehrer für ein halbes Jahr nach Kambodscha.

 

Weitere Beiträge

Comments (1)

  1. Ramer Elisabeth
    Juli 10, 2017

    Es ist bewundernswert was hier geleistet wird.

    Reply

Hinterlassen Sie einen Kommentar!

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind markiert *