VILLAGE SCHOOL PROJECT

Education is a major driving force behind the development of any society. As a result, the village school project forms the centrepiece of the cluster project. The combination of high-quality basic training measures that have been adapted to the conditions on site and the dual vocational training

system as practised in Switzerland ensure that the children and young adults partaking in the project will receive the education they need to earn a sufficient and sustainable income for themselves and their families.

Dorfschule

POOR SCHOOL INFRASTRUCTURE

he education system in Cambodia is highly localised. It is faced with a host of difficult challenges including a lack of qualified educators and adequate teaching materials and other deficiencies including poor work ethics / professional ethics as educators that can be attributed to low wages. The consequences are frequent class cancellations on account of educators who prefer to pursue secondary employment or collect additional tuition instead of teaching class. Children living in the country only have limited opportunity to attend school as they are often expected to work in the fields. These detrimental conditions have led to profound differences in quality both between individual schools and between urban and rural regions. Overall, parents pay up to six times more for the education of their children than the government. This often results in a family’s inability to send all of their children to school and, in particular, girls dropping out of school and leaving them with a lower level of education compared to their male schoolmates.

The initial situation of the Village School Project is as follows: The closest public village school is currently attended by approximately 620 children and young adults who are instructed by ten teachers. Not included in this number are about 50 children living on the farms of SGC’s agricultural project and other local children who, for whatever reason, are currently not in school at all. Given a teacher / pupil ratio of currently 1/70, it comes as no surprise that the educational outcomes are extremely poor. When taking into account the whole of the local community of Tbeng Khpos, we can assume that the total number of children of school-going age (aged 3 to 15 years) amounts to 2,000 potential pupils. Realising the glaring need for improvement in this area, SGC has vowed to offer their assistance – as education is crucial for the future development of the community.

Schule innen vorher
Kindergarten nachher
village-school
Dorfschulprojekt
village-school2
Schule-aussen-vorher
village school project
Schule aussen nachher

THE VILLAGE SCHOOL PROJECT

After completing the renovation of the old school building in 2015, we – in cooperation with the ETH Zurich and Zurich University of Teacher Education – are currently hard at work to make our «Village School Project» a success. The strategy we are pursuing is two-pronged: Firstly, Smiling Gecko is partnering with Zurich University of Teacher Education to develop an educational concept that is adapted to the singular situation in Cambodia and to implement this concept starting with the training of the educators. Secondly, Smiling Gecko is teaming up with the ETH to prepare a constructional infrastructure that is specifically designed to promote learning in preschool to senior high school pupils and that also serves as a signature architectural project that exemplifies sustainability.

Local construction materials, strengthening the value chains found in the region, training craftsmen, regenerative energy concepts and comprehensive programs that include providing nutrition to the pupils are at the heart of our planning efforts. This project has no equal anywhere else in the world as the planning and construction of the buildings marry the latest discoveries in the field of climate change and alternative construction materials with the currently prevailing educational standards. To bring our planning to fruition, we involved from the very beginning the Zurich University of Teacher Education and the Swiss Federal Institute for Water Resources and Water Pollution Control (EAWAG) in Zurich along with several professors working for the architecture department at the ETH.

DORFSCHULPROJEKT
DORFSCHULPROJEKT
DORFSCHULPROJEKT
DORFSCHULPROJEKT

DRAFT

Praesentation

THE CONSTRUCTIONAL INFRASTRUCTURE

34 students attending the ETH under the direction of Dirk E. Hebel researched the fundamentals necessary for our new school and formulated 16 individual architectural projects. To this end, the students travelled to Cambodia in 2015 and carefully studied and analysed both the local school system and traditional construction methods and temple complexes such as Angkor Wat. Their research paid particular attention to local building materials and how they might fare in the future given the continuous climatic changes. Based on these individual projects, a project team composed of 5 students and a senior architect prepared a finished and viable project requiring approval, which was finished in December of 2016. After adapting the project to the local regulations, the construction of the school, which will educate more than 1,000 children ranging in age from preschool to high school, will commence in spring of 2017.

The building project involves the construction of various new buildings that will house not only pupils and educators but also the preschool classes. Aside from the school buildings, sanitary facilities, first-aid rooms, a school

cafeteria, a library, sports installations and dwellings for teachers are projected to be built as well. There is a shortage of all of these installations to the present day.

The measures we are taking in the context of the Village School Project help create an innovative, child-oriented and effective learning environment that reflects the latest findings in educational research. Sporting a modular design, the architecture of the school complex requires only simple means to be easily reproduced. Construction relies on regional building materials and takes the local climatic conditions carefully into consideration. Key components of the construction such as the supporting structure and the roof construction can be manufactured and installed by Smiling Gecko’s own carpentry workshop. The modular design of the school complex makes it possible to expand the complex at any time or adapt it to smaller and larger schools and even entirely different purposes (see Sustainable Garment Education & Production) with perfect ease.

DORFSCHULPROJEKT
Praesentation A3
Final-Submission_Village-School-Project_Booklet-A3-94
Praesentation A3

THE EDUCATIONAL CONCEPT

This optimised learning environment allows SG to run a pilot school in the context of a 10-year project that is assisted by members of the Zurich University of Teacher Education under the tutelage of Prof. Dr. Wiltrud Weidinger and Prof. Dr. hc Rolf Gollob. The educators trained here are instructed and educated further based on the latest discoveries made in the field of educational research. The educational approach applied is characterised by three elements.

Firstly, school is defined as a system in which school administrators regard the territory of the school as an environment that operates on democratic principles. Aspects of primary importance in this environment are taking care of the infrastructure, furthering the education of all occupational groups and an interaction between the school and its immediate environment that is well organised and follows set rules. A practical guide for school administrators will be prepared to help educators managing the school further their education.

Secondly, the guidance of our educational partners will educate the teaching staff on how to utilise the teaching aids supplied by the government most effectively and in a way that produces the best possible results. This effort is complemented by additional materials which are developed in cooperation with other local experts. A permanent further training initiative has been established in an effort to give faculty the support they need to thrive in their new role as professional educators. These materials are bolstered by an educational handbook that is developed at the Zurich University of Teacher Education and geared to accommodate the needs and local conditions present in developing and emerging countries.

Thirdly, all opportunities the work and living environment of the Smiling Gecko cluster project has to offer in terms of learning and making new experiences are exploited for educational purposes. The project develops programs that teach specific skills in the areas of agriculture and

horticulture, livestock production, woodworking, bicycle maintenance, irrigation, and textile processing – both in theory and practice. These programs are part of a dynamic curriculum that is made available both to internal pupils and – in the form of course and class camps – to other schools in the area. In addition to taking into account the conditions found locally and nation-wide, the curriculum also considers international experiences and the latest discoveries made in educational research. The main focus of the syllabus are the children and their personal development as well as the outcome of the teaching efforts which are supposed to change the children’s lives for the better.

The VSP aims at assisting the local school in providing education that goes beyond kindergarten and primary school level. In the near future, the school is to teach students at senior level to prepare them for apprenticeships and jobs or to continue their studies at university level. As the existing school is a licensed private school, SGC is required to cooperate closely with the local and regional authorities. It is our expressed objective to quickly establish and maintain a network of public schools that tends to and supports all matters of school education (school administration as well as school development and curriculum development). So far, all schools we approached have declared their eagerness to join us. The SGC Village School Project has become a pilot project that illustrates how development aid in the field of education, based on cooperation with local institutions, can be put to successful use. SGC will continue to work in close cooperation with all national and regional governments. SGC, the Zurich University of Teacher Education, and the ETH work together hand in hand to develop a holistic training concept that can serve as a model for both Cambodia and other countries.

Since not self-supporting for obvious reasons, the school is supposed to be covering its operating costs using the proceeds generated by the remaining pillars of the cluster project.

In cooperation with

phzh_logo_sponsoring
ETH Zürich
Dirk Hebel
Ilse-hartmut-schneider-fondation

OTHER PROJECTS

AGRICULTURE FAMILY PROJECT

SMILING GECKO
CARPENTRY

FARMHOUSE SMILING GECKO

SUSTAINABLE GARMENT PRODUCTION

INDUSTRIAL EDUCATION & TRAINING CAMPUS

BAMBOO PROJECT

TUK TUK PROJECT

DIRECT AID

SUPPORT OF OTHER NGOS

DORFSCHULPROJEKT

Bildung spielt in der Entwicklung einer Gesellschaft eine gewichtige Rolle. Das Dorfschulprojekt ist daher das Herzstück des Clusterprojektes. Die Kombination aus einer – an die lokalen Gegebenheiten angepassten – qualitativ hochstehenden Grundausbildung und dem dualen

Berufsausbildungsansatz nach Schweizer Vorbild gewährleistet die optimale Vorbereitung von Kindern und Jugendlichen auf eine nachhaltige Beschäftigung, die den Lebensunterhalt für sich und ihre Familien sichert.

Dorfschule

MANGELHAFTE SCHULUNGSSITUATION

Das kambodschanische Bildungssystem ist stark dezentralisiert. Es sieht sich vielen Schwierigkeiten gegenüber, darunter einem Mangel an qualifizierten Lehrerpersonen und adäquaten Lehrmaterialien, fehlender Arbeitsmoral bzw. pädagogischem Ethos unter anderem aufgrund niedriger Löhne. Folgen sind häufiger Schulausfall infolge von Nebenbeschäftigungen oder dem Eintreiben von zusätzlichem Schulgeld durch die Lehrperson. Der Schulbesuch in ländlichen Gebieten bleibt begrenzt, auch weil von den Kindern häufig erwartet wird, auf den Feldern zu helfen. Daraus resultieren gravierende Qualitätsunterschiede zwischen einzelnen Schulen aber auch zwischen städtischen und ländlichen Gebieten. Insgesamt bezahlen die Eltern sechs Mal so viel für die Ausbildung der Kinder wie der Staat. Das führt oft dazu, dass nicht alle Kinder einer Familie zur Schule gehen können und speziell die Mädchen früh die Schule verlassen und ein tieferes Bildungsniveau als die Knaben haben.

Die Ausgangslage des Village School Project sieht wie folgt aus: In der nächstgelegenen staatlichen Dorfschule besuchen derzeit rund 620 Kinder und Jugendliche den Unterricht bei zehn Lehrpersonen. Nicht mit eingerechnet sind in diesen Zahlen die aus diversen Gründen nicht eingeschulten Kinder sowie die rund 50 Schulkinder aus dem Landwirtschaftsprojekt von SGC. Dass der Unterricht bei einem Verhältnis von Lehrer/ Schüler von derzeit 1/70 qualitativ ungenügend ist, kann nachvollzogen werden. Zählt man in der lokalen Kommune von Tbeng Khpos alle Kinder und Jugendliche im schulfähigen Alter (3 bis 15 Jahre) zusammen, leben in der Region sogar rund 2000 potenzielle Schülerinnen und Schüler. SGC hat sich deshalb zum Ziel gesetzt, die Schulsituation dringend zu verbessern – und damit die Zukunft der jungen Bevölkerung entscheidend zu fördern.

Schule innen vorher
Kindergarten nachher
village-school
Dorfschulprojekt
village-school2
Schule-aussen-vorher
village school project
Schule aussen nachher

DAS VILLAGE SCHOOL PROJECT

Nachdem 2015 die Renovation des alten Schulgebäudes abgeschlossen werden konnte, arbeiten wir im Moment in Kooperation mit der ETH Zürich und der Pädagogischen Hochschule Zürich mit Hochdruck am «Village School Project». Zum einen entwickelt Smiling Gecko in Kooperation mit der PH Zürich ein auf die Situation angepasstes und für Kambodscha einzigartiges pädagogisches Konzept und setzt dieses beginnend mit der Ausbildung der Lehrpersonen um. Zum anderen stellt Smiling Gecko in Zusammenarbeit mit der ETH eine darauf spezifisch entwickelte bauliche Infrastruktur bereit, die optimales Lernen vom Kindergarten bis zur Oberstufe ermöglicht und gleichzeitig aus architektonischer Sicht ein Leuchtturmprojekt im Sinne der Nachhaltigkeit darstellt.

Lokale Baumaterialien, Stärkung von lokalen Wertschöpfungsketten, Ausbildung von Handwerkern, regenerative Energiekonzepte und umfassende Programme bis hin zur Ernährung der Schüler stehen im Zentrum der Planungen. Dieses Projekt ist weltweit einzigartig, da neben den neuesten Erkenntnissen zum Klimawandel und zu alternativen Baumaterialien auch aktuelle pädagogische Standards bei der Planung der Gebäude und beim Bau Berücksichtigung finden. Um das zu gewährleisten, wurde die Pädagogische Hochschule Zürich, die EAWAG Zürich und mehrere Professoren des Departements Architektur der ETH von Beginn an in die Planung und den architektonischen Umsetzungsprozess involviert.

DORFSCHULPROJEKT
DORFSCHULPROJEKT
DORFSCHULPROJEKT
DORFSCHULPROJEKT

ENTWURF NEUBAU

Praesentation

DIE BAULICHE INFRASTRUKTUR

Unter der Leitung von Prof. Dirk E. Hebel haben 34 Studenten der ETH die Grundlagen für unsere neue Schule erforscht und 16 individuelle, architektonische Projekte erarbeitet. Dazu waren die Studenten 2015 in Kambodscha vor Ort und haben dort sowohl das Schulwesen, als auch traditionellen Bauarten und Tempelanlagen wie Angkor Wat genau studiert und analysiert. Ihre Forschung berücksichtigte besonders lokale Baumaterialien im Zusammenspiel mit der Klimaveränderung in der Zukunft. Aus diesen einzelnen Projekten wurde dann von einem Projektteam mit 5 Studenten und einem Senior-Architekt ein fertiges, realisierbares Genehmigungsprojekt erarbeitet, das im Dezember 2016 abgeschlossen wurde. Nach Anpassung an die lokalen Bestimmungen wird im Frühjahr 2017 mit dem Bau der Schule für über 1000 Kinder, vom Kindergarten bis zur Highschool, begonnen.

So entstehen diverse Neubauten für die Schülerinnen und Schüler, für die Lehrpersonen, aber auch für die Kindergartenklassen.

Neben den Schulhäusern sind auch sanitäre Einrichtungen, Sanitätsräumlichkeiten, eine Schulkantine, eine Bibliothek, Sportanlagen sowie Lehrerunterkünfte geplant. An all diesen Einrichtungen mangelt es bis heute.

Im Village School Project wird damit eine innovative, kindgerechte und effektive Lernumgebung nach neuesten pädagogischen Gesichtspunkten geschaffen. Die Architektur des Schulareals ist modular entwickelt und mit einfachen Mitteln reproduzierbar. Sie bedient sich regionaler Baumaterialien und orientiert sich stark an den lokalen klimatischen Gegebenheiten. Wichtige Bestandteile der Konstruktion, wie die Tragstruktur und die Dachkonstruktion können von der Smiling Gecko eigenen Schreinerei produziert und montiert werden. Bedingt durch die modulare Bauweise ist das Schulareal jederzeit ausbaubar und kann unproblematisch für kleinere und grössere Schulen, wie auch andere Verwendungszwecke (s. Sustainable Garment Education & Production) adaptiert werden.

DORFSCHULPROJEKT
Praesentation A3
Final-Submission_Village-School-Project_Booklet-A3-94
Praesentation A3

DAS PÄDAGOGISCHE KONZEPT

In dieser idealen Lernumgebung betreibt SG in Zusammenarbeit mit der PH Zürich unter der Leitung von Prof. Dr. Wiltrud Weidinger und Prof. Dr. hc Rolf Gollob in einem 10 Jahresprojekt eine Laborschule. Hier werden Lehrpersonen nach neuesten pädagogischen Gesichtspunkten aus- und weitergebildet. Drei Elemente prägen den gewählten pädagogischen Ansatz.

Erstens wird die Schule als System verstanden, in dem eine Schulleitung das Territorium der Schule als eine demokratisch gestaltete Lernumgebung versteht. Pflege der Infrastruktur, Weiterbildung aller Berufsgruppen sowie ein sorgfältig gestaltetes Schulleben in Kontakt mit dem nahen Umfeld stehen dabei im Vordergrund. Ein anwendungsorientiertes Schulführungshandbuch wird erarbeitet, das der Weiterbildung der Schulleitungen dient.

Zweitens lernen die Lehrpersonen dank der pädagogischen Unterstützung die staatlichen Lehrmittel sinnvoll und ergebnisorientiert zu nutzen. Dazu werden – in naher Kooperation mit lokalen Fachpersonen, Zusatzmaterialien erarbeitet. Eine permanente Weiterbildungsinitiative gibt den Lehrpersonen den nötigen Rückhalt für die neue professionelle Ausrichtung. Unterstützt werden diese Materialien durch ein didaktisches Handbuch, das an der PH Zürich speziell für die Anwendung in Entwicklungs- und Schwellenländern entwickelt und an die lokalen Verhältnisse adaptiert wird.

Drittens werden alle Lern- und Erfahrungsmöglichkeiten, die die Arbeits- und Lebensumwelt des Clusterprojekt Smiling Gecko anbietet, pädagogisch genutzt. Spezifische Lern- und Praxisprogramme für Acker- und Gartenbau, Viehzucht, Holzbearbeitung, Fahrrad-Unterhalt, Bewässerung, Textilverarbeitung werden erarbeitet und als lebendiges Lernangebot für die internen Schülerinnen und Schüler aber auch als Kurs- und

Klassenlagerangebot für Kinder von benachbarten Schulen bereit gestellt. Berücksichtigt werden neben lokalen und nationalen Gegebenheiten auch internationale Erfahrungen und Erkenntnisse aus der aktuellen Bildungsforschung. Im Vordergrund stehen die Kinder in ihrer persönlichen Entwicklung und die Lernergebnisse, die an den Bedürfnissen des Lebens angepasst sein sollen.

Ziel des VSP ist es, dass in der von SGC unterstützten Schule in naher Zukunft nicht nur Kindergarten- und Primarschüler ausgebildet werden können. Bald sollen sich hier auch Oberstufenschüler auf den Einstieg ins Berufsleben oder an eine Universität, vorbereiten können. Da es sich um eine staatlich anerkannte Privatschule handelt, ist SGC auf die einvernehmliche Zusammenarbeit mit den lokalen und regionalen Behörden angewiesen. Es ist das erklärte Ziel, schnell ein Netzwerk von öffentlichen Schulen in alle Belange (Schulleitung, Schulentwicklung sowie Unterrichtsentwicklung) einzubeziehen und zu unterstützen. Bisher haben sich diese gerne dazu bereiterklärt. Denn das Schulprojekt von SGC hat mittlerweile eine Leitfunktion übernommen, wie kooperative Entwicklungshilfe auch im Erziehungsbereich funktionieren kann. Auch in der Zukunft pflegt SGC einen engen Austausch mit staatlichen und regionalen Regierungen und Behörden. SGC, die PH Zürich und die ETH schaffen so ein gesamtheitliches Ausbildungskonzept mit Modellcharakter für Kambodscha und darüber hinaus.

Die Schule kann sich natürlich nicht selbst tragen und folglich sollen die laufenden Kosten aus den Erträgen der übrigen Säulen des Clusterprojektes bestritten werden.

In Kooperation mit

phzh_logo_sponsoring
ETH Zürich
Dirk Hebel
Ilse-hartmut-schneider-fondation

WEITERE PROJEKTE

LANDWIRTSCHAFTS-
FAMILIENPROJEKT

SMILING GECKO CARPENTRY

FARMHOUSE SMILING GECKO

NACHHALTIGE TEXTILFABRIKATION

INDUSTRIAL EDUCATION & TRAINING CAMPUS

BAMBUS PROJEKT

TUK TUK PROJEKT

DIREKTHILFE

UNTERSTÜTZUNG ANDERER NGO´S